Why I chose iOS Development

Why I chose iOS Development

My switching from web to iOS development

The Start

I started my programming journey as a developer by watching some random HTML, CSS and JS courses (basic eh?), then I learned some Python, I was mainly interested in making apps i.e frontend development. After expanding my knowledge about software development a bit I was struck by how much tools and choices are there.

I didn't know what framework should I start with, even if I chose one I'm sure I would jump to another one and try it and so on (I think there is about 10 JS frameworks was made while am writing this article). It was like I'm learning some physics and someone gave me a whole library to read from it whatever I want. I don't like that, I prefer to have a limited list of high quality books.

To many this may sound like a good thing (to have this much of tools choices), but for me this makes me panic.

Switching to iOS

At the end I tried doing some iOS development and this was the thing for me, this ecosystem for all of Apple products (for developers and users) just gave me relief. I only have to use one text editor: Xcode, one OS: macOS and one programming language: Swift. With this specific tools you can make iOS, iPadOS, macOS, tvOS, watchOS, and even backend (with frameworks like Kitura and Vapor if you are interested).

Tools

tools.jpeg

We shape our tools and afterwards our tools shape us.

-Marshall McLuhan

Don't get me wrong, I love tools, but having too many of them will only make me confused and stressed, I prefer to have limited choices of tools and huge output varieties to make with this specific, well-designed tools.